My Thoughts on IBM Connect 2013

I, like many others, had trepidations about the change of conference name from Lotusphere to IBM Connections and the implied change of focus for the conference. Our worries were unfounded. There were many technical sessions and an increase in the number of XPages sessions.

For me the conference started before I left MCO as I got my Mat Newman hug at the Meirs Shuttle stop. It was really great to meet the many people I only knew from social media and many that I met last year at my first in person Lotusphere. There were many others I wanted to meet but unfortunately our paths never crossed.

IBM Connect 2013 signaled the end of a number of Lotusphere traditions/long time attendees:

1 – The last This Week in Lotus was recorded before a live audience and I was fortunate to be part of that audience. Many thanks to Stuart McIntire and Darren Duke. TWiL will be missed.

IMG_1328

2 – Ed Brill announced that he is changing roles within IBM next month and moving to IBM Enterprise Mobile. You will be missed Ed. Many thanks for all you did for the IBM Lotus community.

3 – This was likely the last Lotusphere/IBM Connect conference for Tom Duff. We’ll miss you Tom.

I attended every session I had scheduled and they were all good to excellent. Only once did I leave a session to go to an alternate and that was due to a poorly entitled session (ID310 – Bringing IBM Connections and Microsoft SharePoint to Typical Business Users). The speaker, who I knew, saw me and came over to chat. It then became clear that this was not a session for me. As it turned out, this session was NOT about Connections.

Some of our team from DAI had a good time a Splitsville. Dinner, drinks, and bowling courtesy of CDW.

Oh, and it was neat seeing my name on a presentation slide:

Many thanks to everyone who made this conference the success it was!

What others had to say about IBM Connect 2013:

Thank you to the people who made IBM Connect 2013 a hit

The Events of This Week

A Week in Florida. I Have an Idea

My IBM Connect 2013 Highlights

CONNECT 2013 – GENERAL OBSERVATIONS

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Posted in Connect 2013, IBM, IBM Connect, IBMConnect, Lotus, Lotus Notes, Lotusphere
One comment on “My Thoughts on IBM Connect 2013
  1. Ed Brill says:

    thank you Steve for the kind words. Hard to move on from the community and the product but my new opportunity is very exciting.

Comments are closed.

Categories
February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
