Coping with Email Overload

Peter Bregman recently posted an excellent article “Coping with Email Overload“. I’m going to try this. Not sure what interval will work best for me; perhaps start with checking once an hour. I’ll process whatever has come in since the last check and then get out. If an email will require a long, detailed response, perhaps I’ll draft the response outside of the mail platform (IBM Lotus Notes in my case). I know that I’ll sometimes have to reference saved emails during the off period. I’ll have to be strong and just go in and the get out. 

A lot stuff I save in email folders should be in a file share or SharePoint. Collaboration anyone? That’s just another workflow/work process change I need to make.

I know it will be hard to resist the temptation to constantly check email during off hours on my iDevices. Lord, give me strength! 

Oh yes, be sure to turn off email alerts in your mail client and SmartPhone.

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Posted in Collaboration, e-mail, Lotus, Lotus Notes
5 comments on “Coping with Email Overload
  1. For me the key thing is to only look at en email once. If you’ve taken the time to look at it, deal with it there and then. Be that deletion, delegation, deferring or completing whatever task the email contains. Instead of putting off dealing with the email, if you’ve opened it then you may as well do whatever is needed to get it out of your inbox.

    We’re trying to overcome the issue of overload, both from email and also other forms of digital communication over at http://unifiedinbox.com/ so give us a try and let me know what you think

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe this website needs far
    more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the advice!

  3. Excellent website. Lots of helpful information here.
    I am sending it to several pals ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thanks on your sweat!

  4. Good day! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!

    He always kept talking about this. I will forward
    this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

  5. Excellent site. Lots of useful info here. I’m sending it
    to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks to your sweat!

Comments are closed.

Categories
April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
