I’m Going to Lotusphere!

After attending the past two Lotusphere conferences virtually, I’m finally going to Lotusphere.  At my urging, my company, DAI, started attending Lotusphere in 2010 with just one attendee. In 2011, we sent six staff, most of which were developers. This year, 2012, we’re again sending at least six staff, including our two Lotus Notes/Domino messaging administrators, a few developers, and me.

This will be the first time in many years that I’ve attended a weeklong conference. During the 1980’s, I attended most of the twice yearly, weeklong, IBM SHARE conferences and a few of the interim conferences. SHARE was social before the term social was coined. A lot of us communicated between sessions, helping each other overcome issues with installing, configuring and running IBM mainframe software. SCIDS, SHARE Committee for Informal Discussion Session or Session Containing Inebriates, Drunks, and Sots, depending on who you asked, an open bar held in the evenings, Sunday through Thursday, was the main social event.

In preparation for Lotusphere, I read Lotusphere Tips – New to Lotusphere? by  Sharon “social shazza” Bellamy and Andy Donaldson’s Andy’s Guide to Lotusphere 2012 – It’s the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine edition! Let’s see: wear confortable shoes as you’ll be doing a lot of walking, bring plenty of Pepto and/or Imodium, don’t forget chargers for your laptop, tablet, an smartphone … Oh yeah, be prepared for a lot of drinking (no problem).

I’m looking forward to my first Lotusphere and also looking forward to meeting the people I only know from their blogs and from Twitter.

See you in January …

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Blog
2 comments on “I’m Going to Lotusphere!
  1. Stop by the User Experience Lab and say hello!

  2. James Mangum says:

    Steve,

    I will be attending this year’s Lotusphere as well. Hopefully we will bump into each other, lad.
    I’ve heard your company uses Lotus extensively and I’m very interested in discussing and learning the infrastructure of your Lotus/Domino setup. My company is planning on switching over to IBM and that is one of the main reasons that I will be attending. I’d like to hear from you about your hands on experience with Lotus.
    It is hard to find Lotus experts and you are the one that I admire the most and I have faith and trust that you will be the one to guide me correctly on the decisions that we are about to take as a company.

    Thank you and I look forward to having the enlightening experience of meeting you in person.

Comments are closed.

Categories
December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
