Microsoft Password Checker

This morning through a Security newsletter from Microsoft, I found out about a password checker they provide. The site says:

Password Checker does not collect, store, or transmit information beyond the computer that you use to access Password Checker. The image works on your computer desktop until you navigate away from the page.

The security of the passwords entered into Password Checker is similar to the security of the password you enter when you log into Windows. The password is checked and validated on your computer, but is not sent over the Internet.

I plan to let our staff know about this tool should they wish to gauge the strength of their password.

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Posted in Information Security, IT Security, Microsoft, Passwords, Security Awareness
7 comments on “Microsoft Password Checker
  1. Thanks in favor of sharing such a good opinion, post
    is pleasant, thats why i have read it completely

  2. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog readers have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  3. Blake says:

    Hurrah! In the end I got a blog from where I can truly obtain valuable facts regarding my study and knowledge.

  4. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same information
    you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  5. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with helpful information to work on. You’ve performed an impressive task
    and our entire group can be grateful to you.

  6. Noe says:

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  7. This piece of writing is truly a fastidious one it assists
    new internet users, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

Leave a Reply

Categories
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
