IT Security Awareness Training

Andy, ITGuy recently blogged about the need for better Security Awareness Training. That’s one of my focus areas this year for my company. My first bi-month newsletter goes out this week. I’ve received approval to put on mandatory IT security training this year; whether the budget will be there is another story. I want to do something web or intranet based and customizable to meet our needs. I’ll be looking forward to whatever Andy has up his sleeve. Mike Rothman stated that:

And maybe someday we’ll see a company emerge that focuses on user awareness training in a more leveraged fashion. Now that would be a novel idea.

Hopefully …

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Posted in Blog, Security, training
3 comments on “IT Security Awareness Training
  1. andy itguy says:

    Steve, You need to check into The Security Catalyst if you haven’t already (www.securitycatalyst.com). Michael has put together some good stuff and he is offering it at a good price also. Right now I’m still trying to get my bearing on how I want to take this. There are too many good ways that haven’t been addressed yet. I’d like to take a shot at some of them. Let me know how it goes and if you need to bounce somethings off of anyone I’ll be glad to listen and give my 2 cents worth.

  2. Steve,

    As Andy suggested (thanks, Andy) – this is entirely an area of passion for me. I’d be happy to catch up on the telephone about some of my plans and visions for how to “transform” your awareness program.

    In return, you can help me make it better!

  3. Setting up my next security awareness training program for the domain admins; who of course “know” everything and have access to everything company wide. .. so the session is usually nothing more then a reminder and check mark on my Info Sec to do list. I want to shock them a little this time. How about a fun, little, social engineering trick before the meeting to try and fool them? Any ideas? Again these are smart and very technical people… but surely they are not immune to security risk.

    Thanks
    James

Leave a Reply

Categories
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  
