Active Directory LDAP Searches

I have had occasion recently to run scripts to query Microsoft Server 2003 Active Directory to determine which accounts have “password never expires”, “user can’t change password”, and the like. I dabble in scripting off and on and tend to use samples I find on the net as a starting place. I took a course in VBScript a few years ago which has helped. I’m no stranger to programming having programmed in IBM assembler and PL/1 on IBM mainframes back in the dark ages. I’ve stumbled across a number of good reference web sites for Active Directory LDAP queries:

First and foremost are the Microsoft Script Center and the Microsoft Scripting Guys

Yesterday I stumbled across the ADSI Scripting for Administering Windows 2000/2003 Networks

Daniel Petri’s site LDAP search strings samples has lots good examples

The sample chapter from the book Managing Enterprise Active Directory With Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) was helpful. I might even buy the book.

I’ll update this post with additional links in the future.

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Posted in Active Directory, Blog, LDAP, Microsoft, Security, Windows
2 comments on “Active Directory LDAP Searches
  1. Gene says:

    I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I definitely
    enjoyed every bit of it. I have you saved as a favorite to look at new stuff you post…

  2. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but,
    I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it
    grow over time.

Leave a Reply

Categories
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  
