Running Windows With User Privileges

Brian Krebs blogged today about the importance of running everyday software applications under user accounts and discussed, for those users who for whatever reason run as administrator, running browser and e-mail and other applications that are Web-facing programs its own less-privileged account by using Microsoft's DropMyRights.

I have been running my home computers under a user account for some time now and haven't had trouble with any of my applications except three:

– Intuit QuickBooks 2006

– Family Tree Maker 2006

– Intuit Turbo Tax (needs admin rights for auto-update)

I use runas for Quickbooks and Family Tree Maker. These applications need to be fixed so they don’t require admin rights to run them!

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Posted in Blog, IT Management, Microsoft, Security, Technology
2 comments on “Running Windows With User Privileges
  1. Richard says:

    High, my name is Richard and i have a question. I am new to computers so have pity! I am wanting to make my computer safer on the net by using a limited account when browsing. The trouble is is that i need to have two administrator accounts before it gives me the option of a limited account in the user accounts/control panel. Is this the norm for winxp or is my computer screwing around??

  2. Steve Mullen says:

    Richard – I run Windows XP (SP2) Pro on my home computer. I ran XP with the default account which was administrator for a awhile. A year or so ago I decided to run normally as normal user. What I did was setup an admin account named xyzadmin and then changed my user account, xyz, to non-admin. I seldom have to login on my admin account. I do use “runas” to launch QuickBooks and other installs that require admin privileges. I had to show my wife how to use runas so she could run Family Tree Maker.

Leave a Reply

Categories
April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
