Looking for a Job

I never thought finding another job would be this difficult. When I was told of my layoff I was also told that my resume would be circulated throughout the company by HR. I got two calls as a result of that distribution; one for a position with one of our sub-contractors and one for a position in Tampa, FL. Geesh. I applied for a number of positions via the internal Lockheed job site and heard back from only a few with “other candidate more qualified (typically a euphemism for “the job went to an internal candidate?)? or “the position has been cancelled?. Through contacts I found out that a couple positions I applied for were filled a day or two after the vacancy was posted, a clear violation of corporate policy. In a follow-up regarding a few other positions in Baltimore for which I had applied, the local HR person couldn’t find my application/resume and asked me to re-send it. I was also told they were re-evaluating staffing for that particular contract. Emails to this HR person prior to and after leaving Lockheed were not answered. Frustrating to say the least!

I was really encouraged when I received an email from BAE Systems the day after I had submitted my resume to them via the WashingtonPost.com jobs site. Interviews with them went well but alas the job went to an internal candidate. A former boss told me his company recently won a contract that they may be able to place me on but that he wouldn’t have any details until after contract spin-up, which recent got underway. Still no word. I did hear from SAIC late last week regarding an IT security position that I had applied to back in late September. They wanted me to complete and return a pre-screening form which I did right away.

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Posted in Life, Work

Leave a Reply

Categories
November 2005
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
