Laid-off

After nearly 40 years working in the IT industry I find myself without a job; my job at Lockheed Martin was recently eliminated. I was managing the infrastructure that supports the Lockheed Martin NASA ODIN contracts. Reductions in staff and the resulting reduction in seat counts at the NASA Centers translated to reduced revenue resulting in the need to reduce staff. Interestingly my boss announced his resignation about a week after he notified me that my job was going to be eliminated. Fortunately my layoff wasn’t immediate so I had time to start looking for a job and transition my duties to others. After hearing about my imminent departure one of the managers I supported exclaimed “Who’s going to take care us now?? My last day with Lockheed was September 16.

Steve Mullen has been involved in information technology for over 35 years. He is also actively involved in the music program (voice and English hand bells) and Vestry of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Damascus, MD.

Posted in Life, Technology, Unemployment, Work

Leave a Reply

Categories
November 2005
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
